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What Is Unclaimed Property?

Any financial asset, usually
intangible, held for a person
or entity that cannot be
found.

An entity or individual
“cannot be found” if there
has been no documented

transaction or contact

between the owner and

holder for a period of time.

Arkansas’ unclaimed
property statute defines the
period of time for each

property type.

This is referred to as the
dormancy period.




Examples of Unclaimed Property

e
m Examples of unclaimed property types include:

Account balances, Unpaid wages or commissions,
Stocks, Bonds
Refunds, Utility deposits

Insurance proceeds, Cashier’s checks

Money orders, Safe deposit box contents,

Oil and gas royalties, and others




Unclaimed Property Lingo

Any business in possession of unclaimed property is a potential holder
owner Person or entity who has a legal interest in property or the person/entity’s legal
representative

Written notice to the owners at their last known address informing them of property
that will be reported unless they respond in a timely manner to reclaim the money

Due Diligence

Information in the custody of the holder containing details relating to the property.
This could include unique identifiers of the property, the property owner name, the
property value and the property owner address.

Defined as the National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators. This
group sets the standard system for reporting unclaimed property. Arkansas requires
all Holder reports to be submitted in a NAUPA formatted file.




Property Categories and Dormancy Periods

= Wages, Commissions = Cashier’s Checks = Safe Deposit Boxes (5)
= Utility Deposit or Refund = Customer Overpayments = Money Orders (7)
= Shares of Stock = Travelers Checks (15)

® Insurance Claim Checks
= Mineral Proceeds

= Vendor Checks

= Bank Accounts

» |ndividual Retirement
Accounts




Important Dates

Reports to Arkansas are due prior to November 1%t each year.

For example, if you are holding a 3-year property, in order for it to be timely reported in this
upcoming cycle, it would fall within the date range appearing in the second row below.

7/1/19-6/30/20 November 1, 2023 Past Due

7/1/20 - 6/30/21 @ember 1, 2024> Reportable

7/1/21-6/30/22 November 1, 2025 Future Due




How to know where to report Unclaimed
Property

The United States Supreme Court has determined that property should be reported according
to the standards set forth below. There is a two-tier analysis when determining where to report
property:

The state of the
debtor’s domicile
when no address
was known

The state of the
creditor’s last
known address




Get to know NAUPA

The most current version of the NAUPA Standard Electronic File Format may be found at www.unclaimed.org.

W

There are several holder software products on the
market that can help you prepare your report in the

correct format, such as Sovos, FSITrack, Tracker, Enter your information using the Manual Entry option
UPCS, etc. If you are looking for a free option, the HRS on the Submit a Holder Report page on our website at
Pro standard version, https://claimitar.gov/app/submit-a-report.

https://hrspro.unclaimedproperty.com, is free for under
100 records.


https://claimitar.gov/app/submit-a-report
http://www.unclaimed.org/

What does the Law require that | do with Unclaimed

Property?
|dentify Perform Prepare
Unclaimed Due the
Property Diligence Report
Determine Collect File and
dormancy Information Submit

period




ldentify Unclaimed Property

To determine if your business has unclaimed property:

e Analyze general ledgers to identify applicable property categories.
e Find and review the relevant source records.

e Always check the Arkansas Auditor of State’s website for changes and
updates to unclaimed property laws and policies.




Determine Dormancy Period

Determine if the property has been inactive or dormant for the abandonment period.

Issue or Last Activity Date Report Due Date —

7/1/19-6/30/20 November 1, 2023 Past Due
7/1/20-6/30/21 November 1, 2024 Reportable
7/1/21-6/30/22 November 1, 2025 Future Due

Note: Reissuing a check does not reset the dormancy clock,
unless the reissuance was done at the direction of the owner.




Perform Due Diligence

Owners must be Must be performed if
provided at least 90 the value is greater
days to respond to due than S50 and the
diligence letters before address for the owner
a report is filed. appears to be accurate.

Sample due diligence

letters provided
through the Arkansas
Unclaimed Property
Reporting Booklet.




What does the Due Diligence letter include?

Sample
Due Diligence Letter

To Doate

Re: Duspoution of Outitanding Check

O pecords mndacate that the followang check isued 1o youi 14 shill outstandmg
Lhecks Date lvsued Amouni

Please indicate the disposition of the check on the bottom of thas form and refum it 1o us
withn davs

Disposition of check

_ lcashed the sbove-referenced check Provade date cashed, of known

_Irecerved the above-referenced check, but it has been Jost or destroyed.  Please issue a
replacement check

— [ did pot receive the above-referenced check. Please 1ssue a replacement check

— Onber. explan

Please sign here

Address




What does the Due Diligence letter include
(cont’d)?

Sample
Due Diligence Letter

HOLDER NAME & ADDRESS

CUSTOMER NAME
CUSTOMER ADDRESS CUSTOMER
CITY . STATE & ZIP

It is the policy of (HOLDER) to review and update our account records penodically. Our
records of your savingschecking account number 123456 indicate no transactions as of (LAST
ACTIVITY DATE) for (REPORT YEAR). Your account needs to be brought current.  State
law requares us 1o furn this accouat over to the state if the accousnt 15 truly abandoned To
prevent us from furning your account over 10 the state s unchumed property office, please
check the appropriate box, sign in the space provided below, and returm this 10 Us 2% 5000 a8
posuble

The above-referenced address mformaton 1 correct for the account and | am
aware of the account

lease change the account holder s name and 'or address 10 read as follows

 Dwish to close this account. Please send a check for the closeout amount o the
following address

Signanure Date

Your assistance 18 appreciated  Please contact our office if you have any questions

Suncerely

YOUR BANK OFFICER



Gather Property and Owner Data to Include on
Report

What information will | need to report unclaimed property?

e For the owners that you are unable to locate, collect any additional
information such as last known mailing addresses, social security
numbers, birth dates, relationship codes, transaction dates, property
types, and legal description (for oil & gas).




Prepare the Report

Compile the required information for the report:

Start Date. Date the property is presumed abandoned, whether by contact, interest,
activity, issuance, or otherwise.




Create the Report

Creating the report will have 5 basic steps. All steps will be required each time a report is submitted:

Enter Property
Information in a two-

Enter Holder
step process:

Register and Log In Information

= Enter the owner information
= Enter the property details

Submit the report




File and Submit Report

& auditor.ar.gov

To begin your

re port’ go to the S S n"e SEﬁﬁiéuuMni)ﬁflEXN AboutUs v  ReportProperty ¥  Forms Library v  Search for Property v
Arkansas Auditor of B

Submit a Report/Property

State We bSite; - Reporting: 5 Simple Steps
u n d e r t h e Re p O rt E nsu r I ng Reporting Instruction Booklet

Property Tab, click Transparency &
Submita report Accountability

As one of Arkansas's seven constitutional officers, the Auditor of State

FAQ

plays a very important role in the day-to-day business of state
government.

Q Meet Auditor Milligan

https://auditor.ar.gov/report-property/




File and Submit Report

-

Arkansas requires all holder reports to be submitted online in a
NAUPA-formatted file.

In accordance with A.C.A. § 18-28-208(a), all payments must be received
prior to the reporting deadline. Search for, select, and pay at
https://claimitar.gov/app/holder/payment/search

J




Record Retention

Save your records and support

In accordance with A.C.A. § 18-28-221(a), Except as otherwise
provided in subsection (b), a holder required to file a report
under § 18-28-207 shall maintain the records containing the
information required to be included in the report for ten (10)

years after the holder files the report; unless a shorter period is
provided by rule of the administrator.




Additional Notes

A holder of unclaimed property should submit a single remittance as payment for its
annual unclaimed property report.

If a holder submits a single payment to be split into multiple reports, the report
must be submitted in a combined file.

Any payment or transfer remitted to the State, prior to the submission of a report of
unclaimed property, may be returned to the holder.

Any payment using an approved alternate option will not be accepted unless
payment is accompanied by written approval from the office.

Receipt of funds does not relieve the holder from the obligation to file the detailed
report under A.C.A. §18-28-207 on or before the due date

W-9 may be requested by sending an email to holders@auditor.ar.gov.




Questions
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UCP — Presumptions of Abandonment

Account balance

IRA

Securities
Safekeeping

Check or money

All other property




UCP - Account Balance

18-28-202. Presumptions of abandonment.

(a) Property is presumed abandoned if it is unclaimed by the apparent owner
during the time stated below for the particular property:

(5) A demand, savings, or time deposit, including a deposit that is automatically
renewable, three (3) years after the earlier of maturity or the date of the last
indication by the owner of interest in the property; but a deposit that is
automatically renewable is not matured for purposes of this section upon its initial
date of maturity, unless the most recent correspondence from the financial
organization to the owner has been returned unclaimed or undelivered to the

financial organization by the postal service;




UCP - Indication of Owner’s Interest

18-28-202. Presumptions of abandonment.

(d) An indication of an owner's interest in property includes:

(i) the presentment of a check or other instrument of payment of a dividend or other distribution made with
respect to an account or underlying stock or other interest in a business association or financial organization or, in
the case of a distribution made by electronic or similar means, evidence that the distribution has been received;

(ii) owner-directed activity in the account in which the property is held, including a direction by the owner to
increase, decrease, or change the amount or type of property held in the account;

(iii) the making of a deposit to or withdrawal from a bank account;

(iv) correspondence from the financial organization to the owner of the property by mail, which correspondence
has not been returned unclaimed or undelivered to the financial organization by the postal service; and

(v) the payment of a premium with respect to a property interest in an insurance policy; but the application of an
automatic premium loan provision or other nonforfeiture provision contained in an insurance policy does not
prevent a policy from maturing or terminating if the insured has died or the insured or the beneficiary of the policy
has otherwise become entitled to the proceeds before the depletion of the cash surrender value of a policy by the
application of those provisions.




UCP - IRA

18-28-202. Presumptions of abandonment.

(a) Property is presumed abandoned if it is unclaimed by the apparent owner
during the time stated below for the particular property:

(13) Property in an individual retirement account, defined benefit plan, or other
account or plan that is qualified for tax deferral under the income tax laws of the
United States, three (3) years after the earliest of the date of the distribution or
attempted distribution of the property, the date of the required distribution as
stated in the plan or trust agreement governing the plan, or the date, if
determinable by the holder, specified in the income tax laws of the United States
by which distribution of the property must begin in order to avoid a tax penalty;




UCP - IRA

Internal Revenue Service - RMD

Generally, you are required to begin taking withdrawals from an IRA, SIMPLE IRA,
SEP IRA, or retirement plan account when the owner reaches age 72.

https://www.irs.gov/retirement-plans/plan-participant-employee/retirement-
topics-required-minimum-distributions-rmds



https://www.irs.gov/retirement-plans/plan-participant-employee/retirement-topics-required-minimum-distributions-rmds
https://www.irs.gov/retirement-plans/plan-participant-employee/retirement-topics-required-minimum-distributions-rmds

UCP - Securities

18-28-202. Presumptions of abandonment.

(a) Property is presumed abandoned if it is unclaimed by the apparent owner during the time stated below for the
particular property:

(3) Stock or other equity interest in a business association or financial organization, including a security entitlement
under the Uniform Commercial Code -- Investment Securities, § 4-8-101 et seq., seven (7) years after the earlier of:

(A) The date of the most recent dividend, stock split, or other distribution unclaimed by the apparent owner;

(B) The date of the second mailing of a statement of account or other notification or communication that was returned
as undeliverable or after the holder discontinued mailings, notifications, or communications to the apparent owner; or

(C) The date that the security holder or payee is presumed lost or unresponsive under 17 C.F.R. § 240.17Ad-17, as it
existed on January 23, 2013;




UCP - Securities

(2)Lost securityholder means a securityholder:

(i) To whom an item of correspondence that was sent to the securityholder at the address contained
in the transfer agent's master securityholder file or customer security account records of the broker
or dealer has been returned as undeliverable; provided, however, that if such item is re-sent within
one month to the lost securityholder, the transfer agent, broker, or dealer may deem the
securityholder to be a lost securityholder as of the day the resent item is returned as undeliverable;
and

(ii)) For whom the transfer agent, broker, or dealer has not received information regarding the
securityholder's new address.




UCP - Securities

17 C.F.R. § 240.17Ad-17

(3) A securityholder shall be considered an unresponsive payee if a check is sent to the
securityholder by the paying agent and the check is not negotiated before the earlier of the paying
agent's sending the next regularly scheduled check or the elapsing of six (6) months (or 180 days)
after the sending of the not yet negotiated check. A securityholder shall no longer be considered an
unresponsive payee when the securityholder negotiates the check or checks that caused the
securityholder to be considered an unresponsive payee.




UCP - Safekeeping

18-28-203. Contents of safe deposit box or other safekeeping

depository.

Tangible property held in a safe deposit box or other safekeeping depository in this state in the
ordinary course of the holder's business and proceeds resulting from the sale of the property
permitted by other law, are presumed abandoned if the property remains unclaimed by the owner

for more than five (5) years after expiration of the lease or rental period on the box or other
depository.




UCP — Check or Money

. Presumptions ot abandonment.

(a) Property is presumed abandoned if it is unclaimed by the apparent owner during the time stated below for the particular
property:

(1) Traveler's check, fifteen (15) years after issuance;
(2) Money order, seven (7) years after issuance;

(6) Money or credits owed to a customer as a result of a retail business transaction, three (3) years after the obligation accrued;

(8) Property distributable by a business association or financial organization in a course of dissolution, one (1) year after the
property becomes distributable;

(9) Property received by a court as proceeds of a class action, and not distributed pursuant to the judgment, one (1) year after
the distribution date;

(11) Wages or other compensation for personal services, one (1) year after the compensation becomes payable;

(12) Deposit or refund owed to a subscriber by a utility, one (1) year after the deposit or refund becomes payable;




UCP - All other property

18-28-202. Presumptions of abandonment.

(a) Property is presumed abandoned if it is unclaimed by the apparent owner during the time stated
below for the particular property:

(14) AIll other property, three (3) years after the owner's right to demand the property or after the
obligation to pay or distribute the property arises, whichever first occurs;




Questions
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