The Auditor of State administers Arkansas’s Unclaimed Property (UCP) program. Each year, holders of abandoned property report millions of dollars through the program in an attempt to reunite owners with their lost assets. Unclaimed property includes savings accounts, checking accounts, unpaid wages or commissions, stocks, dividends proceeds, refunds, money orders, paid-up life insurance policies, utility deposits and contents of safe deposit boxes. Safe deposit box contents often include things like jewelry, coins, baseball cards, stamps and other personal documents.
Depending on the type of property, unclaimed assets will have been abandoned anywhere from one to 15 years prior to being reported to the Auditor’s UCP Division. Since 1980, over $103 million in unclaimed properties have been returned to the rightful owners. $220 million is still waiting to be claimed. Each year the UCP division publishes lists in Arkansas newspapers of all current year property waiting to be claimed in the Great Arkansas Treasure Hunt. Search online for property belonging to you. To contact the UCP division, please call (501) 682-9174 or 800-252-4648 or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Have questions about what Arkansas’s Unclaimed Property Act requires? See A.C.A. 18-28-201 or visit our Definitions and Frequently Asked Questions page below. To get started searching or filing a claim, check out the categories under “owner” below. For forms, guidelines and information about reporting as a holder, see the information under the “holder” section.
Unclaimed properties are abandoned intangible assets. The abandoned personal assets can include, but are not limited to;
- Salary checks
- Vendor checks
- Insurance proceeds